Conversations

Image

Part 1

Narcisse, hello.”

“Hi. How are you?”

“Fine, and you?”

“Fine. I haven’t seen you.”

“Yes, I’ve been busy.”

“Yes, I know.”

“I figured you got back together with your man, or someone.”

“Yes, someone. Anyway, how are you?”

“Fine. Nothing much is going on, still waiting.”

“OK. Maybe we should get together, have lunch or something?”

“Perhaps.”

“OK, well, let me know. It’s been so hot.”

“Yes, it has.”

“OK, good to see you.”

“You too! Be happy you deserve that.”

“Thank you.”

“OK, goodbye.”

Part 2

“You smile like I have insulted you.”

“Yes, when we saw each other, you put your head down.”

“Yes, you were just far enough away that I couldn’t see your facial reactions, and so rather than acknowledge you, I turned. I didn’t mean to insult you. I just can’t see. I haven’t been sleeping. I am very stressed. I apologize.”

“No problem. Thank you for letting me know.”

Part 3

“I’d like to tell you what is on my mind.”

“OK, I am standing here. Go ahead.”

“Well, I saw you and I said to myself: Now, that’s a lady I could make love to permanently. Well, OK, for a long time, because you are perfectly wrought.”

“OK, is that it?”

“No, and then I thought to myself eventually however, you would loose your shape, become someone I might not want to sleep with and then what? What would we talk about? By the way, who are you? I mean, who are you really beneath this perfectly lovely exterior, in case I wasn’t deluded about having the chance to be with you?”

“I am just a pretty girl. I have no other interests. You were correct in making that assumption. But, sadly I am very superficial so you were correct. I am not interested. I don’t know what we’d talk about. You are just interested in fu*king and I would just want to do my nails and I wouldn’t want you to mess with my hair. Besides, sex wouldn’t be so dirty. I mean unclean and I want to stay clean. I am waiting for someone, a knight in shining armor. Oh well.”

“Yes, oh well, sorry I bothered you.”

“No, that’s OK. I get that a lot.”

“Yes, I am sure you are right. It must be incessant. And you already know you are beautiful.”

“Yes.”

“But, may I ask you?”

“Yes, go ahead.”

“Do you see a man who you could imagine fu*king until you were both old and then you have to start having a conversation?”

“Yes, and I think he’s just a bad boy and he’ll just fu*k me and walk away.”

“I know what you mean. Nobody just talks anymore. Everybody just wants to fu*k. That seems to be the only thing missing; well at least for me.”

“Yes, I agree.”

4 comments

  1. I really enjoyed reading this original dialogue story. I personally think what appears in this story is what you never say to a man or a woman at the prospect of having a love relationship. It is surely what we all think, consciously and also unconsciously, but we do not dare say it because the other person would most probably run away scared. Instead, such thoughts are made explicit here in satirical form. From my perspective this satire’s intention would be to critique the too materialistic superficial world where people are just interested in beauty, sex and hedonism leading all to egotism as the woman’s name, Narcisse, suggests. As a reader, when you come across the first lines you feel PERPLEXITY as you do not expect to find the implicit thoughts so explicit in a conversation. As the story develops, the social critique leads you to feel ANGER, RAGE and REBELLION against a type of too materialistic and superfical world.


Leave a Reply

