Image

The Real You

The Real You

I want the real you,
Not this avatar,
Where my thoughts are sucked.
This voice of yours
That speaks of fragility and hurt,
I want the real you
Because I am a man.

You say the real you is what you want
But in doing so you’d be destroyed.
There are things about you
That you cannot say
Or they would destroy the timidity you display.

You have your demons.
I say you could not be demonic
With that trembling voice.

I respect your need to hide things
You’ve left unknown.
I had to look up “heathen-”
Someone who does not believe in God,
Is uncivilized.

You are honest
And civilized.
I have no right to press you,
Gone too far.

No one is perfect;
I am that example.
But your beauty is unflawed
By your kindness,
The imperfections you have hidden
Are waved.

And yes, what appears your tolerance
Is visible and virtuous.
I am not blind to this,
Only ambitious.

Perhaps, it is your downfall
To be willing to see the beauty
In another,
Who is not so beautiful at all.
But, just as Nancy Reagan said,
You can always say, “No,”
Or in this case, “NO!”

The windfall is true.
Your perfection is my sin.

6 comments

    • LF, I am glad you can relate to my words. As a reader, I know what you mean about coming on a line or a phrase that can sum up everything you are feeling. In the case of the poem, in context, we think we know someone and they’ve elected to keep certain things from us and it is usually for our own good. It isn’t necessary at the level we are relating for them to be so open. They might tell us if they thought it was appropriate, but if we care and trust them, we leave the telling to them.

      Again, as readers, I think we can agree that when we read there are things that speak to us and as a medium, writing is (at least for me) one of the mediums I really care about. It is often truer and more beautiful than life itself.

  1. A poem where the he persona looks for authenticity in the woman he thinks he loves. There seems to be like an inner dialogue about the controversy of showing who you really are or hiding things for fear of not being liked by the other person, perhaps truly afraid of being rejected. Another aspect would be the idealization of a person who is not as you thought:

    “Perhaps itis your downfall
    To be willing to see the beauty
    In another,
    Who is not so beautiful at all.”

    The poem finishes with a parallelism with Nancy Reagan who seems to have said a very clear “no” in her life:

    “Just as Nancy Reagan said,
    You can always say, “No,” or
    In this case, “NO!”


Leave a Reply

