This Way to the End

Image

She believed him,

Honor accorded a woman lost in the world

Hearing sounds in her head

Then slapped

Into a sense of it.

As she woke, her

Body comes into view

And we can’t help but

Find ourselves responding to it.

Why would a beautiful woman

Commit suicide?

But then we realize the assignment

Of purpose.

Is a woman just to be looked at?

Filled from the open channel and then

To be ignored?

No wonder suicide is the only option.

But is it for a woman

This way to the end?

She inhales the smoke of her cigarette

After the failed attempt.

There isn’t enough information

To make this decision

Looking out a window

She cannot escape.

9 comments

  1. Well, I would be very interested in why/what you thought was troubling? Then of course, I would add that none of it was based on reality but rather it was a response to watching the movie The Deep Blue Sea. I am very interested these days in a woman’s beauty and how, in this case, she was not protected by it.

    Again, I would be interested in what you thought before you knew it wasn’t real.

  2. Troubling because you give the impression you were inside this woman’s head, which made me wonder if you’d written it with someone in mind. It’s also troubling because the heroine wanted to kill herself and considered she had “failed” by not doing so…. Beauty is a consumable for many people – it makes a lot of women vulnerable.

  3. I am flattered that I was able to get into a woman’s head. I always have no idea. Well, I know when I’ve angered them, but still never quite why. Yes, troubling that the heroine wanted to kill herself and considered that a “failure,” but I had only meant that she failed to kill herself. I think she was indifferent about it, except that things only got worse for her. The sadness is that the “doctor” said that he thought she would try to kill herself again. I don’t know if you thought much about how long it takes to get out of these situations and they can almost be too time-consuming to be worth coming out of the water. Too often loneliness is the lifestyle and hope is the reality. You mention beauty as a consumable. I love that. The fleeting glance of a person on the horizon of visual pleasure for someone else and having never been seen for the person being objectified. I feel like this is the burden for a beautiful woman and for a man it is a race to appear as a safe place to rest. Aren’t we just peacocks flashing our feathers in the heat of the day? And the day comes to an end? We are all vulnerable to the truth. I am glad you spoke. Your first words were succinct and lovely, the rest of your words were the same. They are also beautiful. Your control of the language, what you say is deep and rich. This statement: “Beauty is a consumable for many people — it makes a lot of women vulnerable” is sublime, profound. The hyphen is like the perfect color for a house. I admire it. I admire the whole of your writing.


Leave a Reply

